युक्ती हीने विचारे तु धर्महानि प्रजायते

The Centre for Technology, Entertainment and Sports Law (CTESL) – Inauguration Ceremony

Raja Chakraborty, Hemant Krishna, Ranadeb Bose, Prof. Dr. N. K. Chakrabarti, Joyjyoti Misra, Sourav Bhagat, Dr. Shameek Sen (L-R)
The Centre for Technology, Entertainment and Sports Law (CTESL) organised its inaugural ceremony on 3rd of October, 2023 at the West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences (NUJS), Kolkata, in the august presence of eminent cricketer Ranadeb Bose. The vice-chancellor of the University, Prof. Dr. Nirmal Kanti Chakrabarti presided over the function along with distinguished alumni and Corporate Lawyers, namely, Sourav Bhagat, Joyjyoti Misra, and Hemant Krishna. CTESL is an academic research centre established at the West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences (NUJS), the first of its kind in Indian Law Schools, created out of a corpus of Rs. One Crore donated for this purpose by a prominent corporation.
In his inaugural address, the Vice Chancellor stressed on the importance that a study of these niche disciplines bring to the arena of legal education. Dr. Shameek Sen, Associate Professor at NUJS and Director of the Centre illustratively outlined different problems encountered by performing artists and sportspersons that necessitate some basic understanding of the legal nuances, which this Centre purports to provide in the form of drafting model contracts, offering training to stakeholders for capacity building, etc.
This Centre envisions to pursue serious academic research in the disciplines of Technology, Entertainment and Sports Law and shall organize lectures, symposia, workshops and training programmes that will equip the participants with latest domain knowledge pertaining to the nuances of these subject-matters. It aims to become the pioneer academic contributory in India to the scholarship in these niche areas of study. This momentous occasion signifies NUJS’s dedication to research excellence and its commitment to advancing the frontiers of legal knowledge in collaboration with industry leaders and legal luminaries. CTESL’s establishment heralds a new era of academic research at NUJS.
Students present at the programme – Satrajeet Sen, Arya Kant, Saurish Mukherjee, Garima Jain, Tanay Khanna, Ridhaditya Ghosh, Madeeha Arshad, Samriddh Sharma, Sourav Paul, Aditya Subarno.